Difference between revisions of "App.conf"

From CollectiveAccess Documentation
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 47: Line 47:
  
  
[[Category:Setup_and_Configuration]]
+
[[Category:Main_Setup_and_Configuration]]

Revision as of 15:35, 1 November 2012

Frequently modified system configurations

There are several components of CollectiveAccess’s back-end default configuration that are customized frequently by users to meet the local needs of their organization. Many, although not all of these configurations, are handled in a single document called app.conf, located in the app/conf folder of the Providence directory. There are three other files that users often customize and they are described in detail below. Chances are, if there are cataloging preferences you’d like to set, you can alter the system through one of these files.

App.conf

The app.conf file is designed so that users can easy manage various system-wide settings for the back-end cataloging interface in one convenient location. This file also sets paths to other configuration files, plugins, and widgets. Several preferences in app.conf can be changed simply by flipping the value of a true/false token.

This list represents the most frequently modified preferences controlled by app.conf:

  • Session lifetime
  • Handling of duplicate and required labels and id numbers
  • Media processing
  • Suppression of record types or tables
  • Navigations and menu bar options
  • Active and strict hierarchies settings
  • Items per page defaults for results
  • Theme configurations (colors, logos, etc.)
  • Search results reporting and summary settings

Media handling options

Option Description Values Availability
dont_allow_duplicate_media If set to non-zero value object representations will be rejected if they already exist in another representation record. 0 or 1; default is 0 Providence and Pawtucket from v1.3

Optional features

Option Description Values Availability
enable_user_generated_content If set to non-zero value user generated content management features will be available. 0 or 1; default is 0 Providence from v1.3

User registration (Pawtucket only)

Option Description Values Availability
registration_default_roles List of role to grant to newly registered users. List of role names or codes. Ex. [cataloguer, marketing] Pawtucket from v1.3
dont_allow_registration_and_login If set to non-zero value registration and login of users will not be available. Use this when you want a system the is open to all users. 0 or 1; default is 0 Pawtucket from v.1.1
Namespaces

Variants
Actions
Navigation
Tools
User
Personal tools